Our Curriculum

Read Academy delivers a Curriculum based on the National Curriculum, informed and supplemented by Qur’anic, Islamic and Arabic Studies.

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS (Reception) curriculum provides a secure base for future learning in all six areas of development.

These are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development;
  • Communication, Language and Literacy;
  • Mathematical Development;
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World;
  • Physical Development;
  • Creative Development.

The curriculum at this stage is mainly organised into carefully planned and structured play activities which is developed and supported by providing a basic understanding of Islam & raising the awareness of Allah (SWT) as The Creator of all things.

Islamic Education

As part of the Islamic Education, we tech Islamic Studies, Arabic Language and Qur’an with Hifdh, from Reception through to Year 6.

The main 5 areas of Islamic Studies are:

  • Aqaa’id
  • Fiqh
  • Ahadeeth
  • Akhlaaq wal A’daab inc Daily Adhkaar
  • Tareekh: Seerah and Lives of other Prophets and Sahabah

Key Stage 1 and 2

Throughout key stage 1 and 2, children are taught the following National Curriculum subjects:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Science
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art/Design & Technology
  • Physical Education
  • Computing

Eleven Plus (11+)

In addition to our innovative curriculum our pupils will also benefit from the 11+ syllabus taught from KS2.

The subject areas covered are:

  • Numerical Reasoning
  • Verbal Reasoning
  • Non-Verbal Reasoning
  • Maths
  • English
  • Vocabulary
  • Spelling

We teach the core subjects (Literacy, Numeracy and Science) using the guidelines as defined by the goveronment. Foundation subjects are planned using the QCA (Qualifications and Curriculum Authority) schemes of work to ensure subjects meet set criteria and standards. Lessons are taught from an Islamic perspective to reinforce the links between faith and learning. The Islamic Studies Curriculum is integrated with QCA schemes of work for Religious Education in the UK.

All students have Qur’an lessons daily with two lessons of Islamic Studies and two lessons of Arabic language. Eleven Plus is taught within the curriculum from Year 3 comprising of two lessons per week.  The core subjects covered are Maths, English, Verbal Reasoning and Non-Verbal Reasoning.

When Read Academy pupils enter their senior schools, whichever this might be, they thrive academically and adjust very easily to the demands of secondary education. The aim at Read Academy is to provide all children with a head start when they reach their secondary school. This is achieved by accelerating children through the syllabus in order to be at least one year ahead of their peers by the end of Year 6. In practice, children in the top sets might be nearly two years ahead whilst the weakest in the year group will attain age appropriate levels of achievement.